RiskOutOfTheBud copy

We are now entering into the longest season of the Christian calendar.  Called “Ordinary Time” which comes from the word “ordinal” and means “numbered time”.  It reminds us to number our days and to work with and for His Kingdom.

Jessica, over at Homemaking Through the Church Year posted this link about Green Time.  It explains why the color for the season is green and reminds us:

“In the old calendar “Ordinary Time” was “time after Pentecost”, a better term. The deliberate choice of green vestments symbolised a time of fecundity for the Church, a time when the Paschal Mystery is accomplished, when the Church is living in the time of the Spirit. Lent, Advent and Eastertide are times when the Church re-orientates itself fixing its attention the Mysteries of the Lord; “Ordinary Time” or better “Time after Pentecost” is when the Church looks out to the world, fulfilling its mission.

It is therefore a sign of the Kingdom of God, all those references to growing shoots, trees, vines in the Gospels, to its quiet unnoticed growth, it is also the sign of fecundity and of life.”

I like the fact that the world around me speaks to this fecundity and growth.  My garden is growing, there are blooming buds on my rhododendrons, and plants I thought had died with the heavy snowfall are peaking their tentative heads above the soil.  I, too, am growing.

If you bought the calendar, you’ll notice the “theme” of this page of Season after Pentecost is WORK::  within our churches.  I am reading Community and Growth by Jean Vanier and am being prodded by the Master Gardener to grow in the area of community within our church.  Perhaps I should wear green to each gathering on Saturday nights during the next few weeks, so I will remember that in this season I am to grow, to plant and to water to the benefit of the community?  (kind of reminds me of the companion planting concept…)

A challenging quote by Vanier:

“The question for every person and community is how to remain rooted in the soil of one’s faith and one’s identity and at the same time to grow and give life to others, and to receive life from them. …It is, however, very demanding for it calls for a life of poverty and insecurity, putting one’s total trust in God and in His loving protection and providence.  And it is precisely this poverty, insecurity and vulnerability which people and communities are frightened of.”

I think God is showing me that I too am frightened of that vulnerability, but He is calling me past that to obedience to Him and to an opening of my heart to His community.

Lord, grow me.  Amen.

