kiss3

I have this strange, recurring theme of kisses that come up in my relating to God.  When I was young in the faith, I came across a line from a poem that seemed to encapsulate my first encounter with this Person named Jesus.  “He kissed me and now I am someone different” is what the poet wrote… and it was true.  Years later, the picture of Klimt’s “The Kiss” in combination with the story of the prodigal spoke so deeply to my soul that the picture now hangs on my living room wall as a reminder of what God has said.  A year ago I wrote a post about witnessing the adoption of a roomful of little girls and entitled it Mercy kisses justice.   I have a friend who, every once and a while, will end an email or letter to me with “May you enjoy His many kisses”.  And I am undone with the picture at the end of Slumdog Millionaire (do not read on if you haven’t seen the movie) when Jamal kisses Latika and we see it rewinding -and reversing – the events of their lives.  Such a picture of redemption!!  Ahhh…the thought of it makes me smile, even now!

As I think about Easter and have been praying that I would live in the JOY of it, I came across Psalm 85 (not sure how I’ve missed it all these years).

I will listen to what God the LORD will say;
he promises peace to his people, his saints—
but let them not return to folly.

9 Surely his salvation is near those who fear him,
that his glory may dwell in our land.

10 Love and faithfulness meet together;
righteousness and peace kiss each other.

11 Faithfulness springs forth from the earth,
and righteousness looks down from heaven.

12 The LORD will indeed give what is good,
and our land will yield its harvest.

13 Righteousness goes before Him
And will make His footsteps into a way.

There it is again…that kissing thing!  And it dawned on me…is this not a resurrection expression?  An Easter description?  A proclamation of the new creation ushered in by the resurrection of Jesus?  Love and faithfulness met together on that cross.  Righteousness and peace kissed each other and became one.  God rightfully condemned sin upon “He who knew no sin but became sin on our behalf” so that He could also become our Peace.  And so He kissed us – and all creation – and everything became different.

Lord, let the land yeild it’s harvest.  Let “abundance” and “life-to-the-full” be the call of Your people.  May truth spring up from the earth and may Your justice rule the day.  Let joy reign!!  And may we follow Your footsteps as the way into Your Kingdom!!  (And enjoy Your many kisses on the journey!)

kiss2


