For those who come from a faith tradition like mine, you may not know what Maundy Thursday is.  I wrote a little about it here last year.  It is a call and reminder to walk in obedience to God – to put our lives into action.  And yesterday as I was roaming the blogshpere, I was also really struck by a blog post by Kathy Escobar on whether we are fans or followers of Jesus.

As we enter into these next few days I am praying this prayer (written by Mother Basilea Schlink):

nailhands

My Lord Jesus,

I implore You, let me not be a Christian in name only nor a mere spectator of Your passion, but rather Your cross-bearer, following Your footsteps.  As a true member of Your Body, let my life reflect Your image.

I place myself in Your hands so that You can imprint upon me the traits of the Lamb.  Help me to endure willingly all that people do to me.  May I remain silent when I am unjustly accused.  Teach me to bless those who curse me and those who hate and persecute me.  I will humble myself beneath scorn and disgrace and patiently bear every cross that comes to me.  I know they come from Your hands.  People are just Your instruments.

I thank You that I can rely on the words of Scripture [and Your Spirit] and need no longer live for myself alone, but may let You live in me.  You are the Lamb of God, who endured all things in love.  Come into my heart anew as I meditate upon Your passion, and imprint in me Your humility and love.  As I think on these things, help me to thank You for the suffereing that You endured because of my sin.  Help me to show You my love and gratitude, not merely in words, but also in deeds.

