Tomorrow we will sit down to a meal in which I want my kids (and those guests joining us) to enter into the Passover meal and Jesus’ journey on His way to the cross.  I hope to bring elements faithful to the Passover (though I am not Jewish and many authentic elements will be excluded from our meal) but also interact with them in a way that possibly Jesus and His disciples did.  Thus, the readings are from both the Hebrew Scriptures and the Gospels.

Here is what we will attempt:

As we go through the evening together, we will drink 4 cups of wine – each symbolizing a promise that God made to the Israelites while still in bondage in Egypt.

Therefore, say to the Israelites: ‘I am the LORD, and I will bring you out from under the yoke of the Egyptians. I will free you from being slaves to them, and I will redeem you with an outstretched arm and with mighty acts of judgment. I will take you as my own people, and I will be your God. Then you will know that I am the LORD your God, who brought you out from under the yoke of the Egyptians. (Exodus 6:6-7)

1st Cup – The Cup of Sanctification…“I will bring you out from under the yoke of the Egyptians”

Blessed are You, O Lord our God, King of the Universe, our Creator.

(then drink)

Usually there would be a washing of hands but we read John 13:1-14 and so will wash one another’s feet (oldest to next oldest and so on until the youngest washes the oldest ones feet.)

washingfeet

Then, dip parsley in salt water and eat – to remember the tears of the children of Israel (read John 13:21-30 – possibly when Jesus gave Judas the morsel and sent him off)

2nd Cup – The Cup of Deliverance…”I will free you from being slaves to them”

Read Exodus 12:1-42 (or the story from a children’s bible – especially for those with young ones)

Blessed are You, O Lord our God, King of the Universe, our Creator.

(then drink)

Meal will consist of:

hummus and pita bread

roasted lamb

Tabouli

imjadara (lentils and brown rice)

(My husband comes from a Lebanese background, so these are foods we make often…I say make whatever your kids – or guests -will eat!)

3rd Cup – The Cup of Redemption…”I will redeem you with an outstretched arm”

Read Mark 14:22-25 and partake in Jesus’ new twist on this Passover meal.

4th Cup – The Cup of Praise…”I will take you as my own people, and I will be your God”

Blessed are You, O Lord our God, King of the Universe, our Creator.

(then drink)

Serve dessert and have individuals read Psalm 115-118 and Psalm 136 (read aloud to the rest of us)

5th Cup – End with Mark 14:26-42 – going to the garden to pray and asking that God “take this cup from Him…yet not My will but Thy will be done.”

notmywill

