_mg_4258

I talked to someone yesterday who thought that this blog was simply a Lenten journey and it dawned on me that I had better clarify.  Back in September I created a calendar (physical, hang it on your wall kind) that was organized by the Christian seasons rather than the months of the year.  I did it as a project for me and it grew to include some friends which then grew more to include their friends.  This blog is a supplement to the calendar…a place to write about living with God’s Story throughout the year.

So as we come to the end of Lenten season, what lies ahead?  I hope to post a series of images relating to Holy Week and perhaps some reflections of how we, as a family, enter in to the Passion Week.  (I will probably begin posting the Holy Week items today or tomorrow, so everyone can be a step ahead – and my friend in the Czech Republic won’t feel left out!!!)

Then comes Easter.  Not just Easter Sunday, but the 50 days of the Easter season.  This is my biggest challenge this year – personally and with our children.  First, how do we remain in an attitude of celebration for 50 days and second, what does it look like to be “Easter people” – bringing resurrection into our families, communities and world.  I am challenged by NT Wright’s question, “So how can we learn to live as wide-awake people, as Easter people?….This is our greatest festival.  Take Christmas away and, in biblical terms you lose two chapters at the front of Matthew and Luke, nothing else.  Take Easter away, and you don’t have a New Testament; you don’t have a Christianity.”

Christine Sine of Mustard Seed Associates has created an Easter guide I will follow.  (I was actually going to create one myself, with a different emphasis for each week, but hers is great and already done.)  You can download the guide at the end of the post…but please make a donation if you use it!

Also, I’d love to have anyone who reads this blogging journey of mine tell me/teach me/share with me what you are doing during the Easter season – especially as it pertains to telling the Story to our children and living the Story in our neighborhoods.

So as we enter this next week, may we immerse ourselves in the symbols, the images and the story of Jesus’ last week.  May we be struck once again with the enormity of His suffering and death.  And may we follow Him faithfully and joyfully into Easter.

