eyewasframed

As a wearer of glasses, I like that moment when, after squinting across the room to try to see the time on my digital clock, I put on my glasses and everything comes into focus.  I like when the once fuzzy-edged world becomes clear with crisp and defined edges.

That intense focusing is the sense I get as I read Luke 9:51 – “As the time approached for Him to be taken up to heaven, Jesus resolutely set His face toward Jerusalem.”

Now, I’m not suggesting that His mission was ever fuzzy or unclear but there seems to be a shift (at least in Luke’s story) where Jesus became very determined and set His line of sight upon Jerusalem.  Even though it would still be some time (some say as much as 9 months) before He got there, His vision was fixed and resolute.

I, for one, am glad it was.

