Evening prayerO God, the Strength of all who put their trust in You;  mercifully accept our prayers; and because in our weakness we can do nothing good without You, give us the help of Your grace, that in keeping Your commandments we may please You both in will and deed; through Jesus Christ our Lord, who lives and reigns with You and the Holy Spirit, one God, for ever and ever.  Amen

Readings: well, to be honest with you, we did not do a lot of reading this last week.  Ok, we did NONE!!  We were sick and then busy…and then I got too tired to make it happen.  So…we will be looking at the “I Am” statements of Jesus this week.  If you did this last week, maybe it’s good to look at them again and ask the Spirit to give you a different perspective on them.  I think the opening prayer (above) has echoes of the “I Am” statements in that we are declaring He is our strength (Bread of Life?), and we can do nothing apart from Him (Vine).

My prayer:

Holy Spirit, would you do some heart-work in me this week.  Would you show me through these “I AM” statements where I do not trust You?  Would you show me where I do not believe that You are those things?  Would you reveal to me what other things or ideas I cling to, trusting them to be what only You are?  I desire to be present with You this week, Jesus, and to hear You speak “I Am” into moments of my days.

