Reading today about escaping from Herod into Egypt, I began to think about Joseph.  What did he think about all that had happened?  What kind of man was he?  What were his thoughts on the journey toward Egypt?

Here are my ideas:

flight-to-egypt1

Rest…my body needs rest

But there are many footsteps to go before I can rest

I watch her cradling the Child

I hear her singing softly to Him

I feel her rocking Him to sleep

And I am bewildered by all that has occurred

Rest…we all need rest

But there are many miles to go before we can rest

This is not the life I imagined

As I learned to use a carpenter’s tools

A strong house in Nazareth, a wife, laughing children

And a quiet obedience to Yahweh

-these were my simple desires

Rest…and now my dreams need rest

But there are many footsteps to take before I can rest

Looking back at the declaration of her pregnancy

I did not wish to disgrace her but the Child did not fit my plan

Then angels interrupted my thought process

And entrusted me with His name

Rest…now my mind needs rest

But there are many miles ahead before I can rest

Then to be counted by the whim and pride of a king

To move my whole life

And this growing Expectation in her

To find no hearty, familial welcome

Rest…my heart needs rest

But there are many footsteps still to take

Strange and awkward visitors awaited us

After His arrival

Shepherds, an old man and woman in the Temple, gift bearing Easterners

And then those intrusive angels again – just when I thought I had been granted respite

Rest…and now my logic needs a rest

But there are many miles to travel before I can rest

So instead of going home

I find myself tracing ancient steps backwards

To the enslaving land of Pharaohs

An opposite kind of Exodus?

Rest…and now my history needs a rest

But there are many footsteps to take before I can rest

What has become of me?flight-to-egypt2

I rely on angelic host and dreams for direction

And with each step Southward

I journey deeper into unexplored, mountainous regions of trust

Rest…my faith cries out for rest!

But the One who commanded says “Journey on!!”

