“Each of us is largely a product of his or her own stories – the ones lived, the ones believed, the ones heard, read and told.”  Although many come from our families, a great deal more come from the culture-at-large and, in increasing amount, from entertainment or commercial advertising.  As my kids (or myself, for that matter) sit to watch their favorite programs they are exposed to the “stories” of products that they need or deserve or just can’t live without.  Perhaps they do not see the propaganda as a story, but it is.  It shapes the way they think, live and see their world.

Some days, I’d like to throw the TV completely out.  But since that is not going to happen, I want to be sure that I offer my children (and myself) a different story than the one they hear on TV or in the world-at-large.

I want to be intentionally shaping my life and my kid’s lives through story.

I want to be a Deuteronomy 6 woman.  “Write these commandments that I’ve given you today on your hearts.  Get them inside of you and then get them inside your children.  Talk about them wherever you are, sitting at home or walking in the street; talk about them from the time you get up in the morning to when you fall into bed at night.  Tie them on your hands and foreheads as a reminder; inscribe them on the doorposts of your homes and on your city gates.”, says God

What does this look like today?  I am far in time from the wandering generation of Deuteronomy.  My life and home are filled with different things than they encountered.  But, like them, I am still called to write God’s story on my heart – and somehow get it inside my children too!

I need a year full of stories to tell.  I need a year full of stories in my calendar.  I need a year full of stories to live out.

This is my attempt at that.

